Friends of a Public Library

“An open book now can open doors later".
 ~~Ed Asner, Actor (1929- )

The Friends of a Public Library is a non-policy making and non-profit organization whose purpose is to focus public attention on the need and importance of Marshall Public Library services, stimulate use of the library’s resources, receiving and encourage gifts, endowments, and bequests and support and cooperate with the library in maintaining services and facilities.



For as little as 3 cents a day, you can help the Friends of a Public Library in their efforts to directly support the programs and services of the library.  Individuals interested in joining Friends may complete the membership form available here and return or mail it to the library. 


Book Sales for 2018

February 9-17 (Sneak Peek on February 8)

May 11-19 (Sneak Peek on May 10)

*Sneak Peek is exclusively for Friends members, but memberships are available at the door!  The book sale starts at 9:30 each morning and ends 30 minutes before the library closes.



Per the Friends' Constitution, officers are elected for a one-year term at the general membership meeting in May and assume office on July 1.  Current officers are:

Steve Flohr, President

Dorcas Collins, Vice President

Sandy Lynch, Secretary

Narcie Crosby, Treasurer

A Board of Directors, limited to no more than 30 members plus past presidents, are elected annually and serve three year terms.



Two annual meetings of the entire membership are held in May and December.  In addition to these meetings, the Board of Directors meets on the first Monday of August, October, February and April. Agendas and minutes for meetings are available by clicking on specific meeting dates below and are also on file at the library. For 2017-2018, the meeting schedule is as follows:

  • August 7, 2017 (Board of Directors)
  • October 2, 2017 (Board of Directors)
  • December 4, 2017 (General Membership/Potluck Dinner)
  • February 5, 2018 (Board of Directors)
  • April 2, 2018 (Board of Directors)
  • May 7, 2018 (General Membership)
The Executive Committee, consisting of the officers of the Friends organization, periodically have special-called meetings. 



The Friends organization has five standing committees.  These committees and their responsibilites are outlined in the Friends' By-Laws.  Friends members are encouraged to participate in one or more committees. The committees and current chairpersons are:

Membership.....Ginny Harris

Programs & Special Events.....Richard Fluker

Book Sale.....Dwight Clemans

Hospitality.....Scherry Earl

Nominating.....appointed in April 



Copyright © 2018 City of Marshall Texas