Emergency Management

Failing to Plan is Planning to Fail.

Image for Emergency Management

The City Of Marshall Division of Emergency Management is responsible for the city's comprehensive emergency management program. Activities and services cover the four phases of emergency management: Mitigation, Preparedness, Response, and Recovery for disasters like flooding, tornadoes, hurricanes, droughts, hazardous materials incidents, and acts of terrorism.

During an actual emergency or disaster, the City of Marshall, Division Of Emergency Management (DEM) coordinates the response and recovery program with support of local, state and federal government agencies. from the Emergency Operations Center (EOC).  In the EOC representatives from other city, state departments and federal agencies come together to coordinate the united response to the in an emergency situation.





Click the logo above and sign up to recieve emergency notifications from the City of Marshall on you cell, email, or home phone.







Cooling Center Schedule -- updated 07/31/2012


Monday                St Josephs Catholic Church                    410 North Alamo

Tuesday               Victory Baptist Church                              607 East Burleson

Wednesday          Central Baptist Church                            300 South Washington

Thursday              Mission Marshall                                       2109 South Washington

Friday                   St Josephs Catholic Church                     410 North Alamo

Saturday               Bethesda Baptist Church                         801 West Grand                                                                   


Our Goal is to make cooling centers available to anyone who needs them everday this month.


Each year many people in our community suffer heat related illness and even death due to unfortunate inability to escape the dangerous temperatures though out the summer. In an attempt to assist members of our community during the grueling summer days, the City of Marshall along with several local churches have opened cooling centers for the month of August.  By sharing the task at hand, we hope to be able to provide more relief from the heat. The following schedule had been developed for the cooling centers; they will be open from noon until evening when the heat subsides. 


If you know of a person or a family that could be in need of this type of assistance, urge them come and make use of the cooling centers, we want to help as many people as we can.

Anybody needing a ride to or from a cooling center may call my office (903-934-7920).

As you can see, not all of the days have been committed to yet and we are still seeking more churches or organizations that want to assist or provide a cooling center.  If you would like to take part in saving lives in our community, contact me for more information.


The above schedule is not set in stone and could change during the month with the addition of other facilities.  Please check our website for updates. 

Helpful Links

State of Texas, Governor's Division of Emergency Management (GDEM)
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Texas Forest Service (TFS)
Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
World Health Organization (WHO)
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The American Red Cross (ARC)

Recomended Weather Links

NOAA Shreveport, Long Range Radar (Animated Loop)
NOAA Shreveport, Local Radar (Animated Loop)


Copyright © 2014 City of Marshall Texas